Pursusing a PhD

박사학위를 딴다는 것은. 결코 쉽사리 결정할 일이 아니다. 그 누구도 박사학위 과정을 ‘쉽사리’ 생각하고 결정짓지는 않겠지만, 생각하는 것의 수십 배 정도는 더 심각한 일이다. 특히나 외국에서 박사학위를 따려고 한다면 말이다.

researcher로서의 pratice values는 artist로서의 practice value와 완전히. 완.벽.하.게 다르다.

이것이 내가 아직까지도 compromise 되지 않는 부분이고.. 도저히 할 수가 없는 부분이다.

researcher와 practitioner는 완전하게 다르다.

I HAVE TO compromise myself to this new role as a researcher to keep on conducting my thesis project. Otherwise I will soon have mental breakdown. I must put my self-ego as an artist aside until I finish the PhD trajectory.

Pursuing research and practice simultaneously is actually impossible mission. When it is termed “FULL-TIME-RESEARCHER”, there must has been a reason for that. I cannot help but admit the fact that I need to devote a couple of years in my life to a completely and thoroughly active-mode of research.

And please NEVER, EVER think that a practice-based researcher and pure practitioner share the same ground. It may seems like that at first, however you will soon recognize that those two roles are very, very, and bery distinctive.

PhD level of research is totally different from Master’s. Don’t underestimate it.

Art/design research가 워낙 emerging하고 있다보니 어색하게 ‘researcher-practitioner’ 라는 신조어를 만들어 냈으나, 그럼에도 불구하고 나의 근간을 이루는 작가마인드는 리서처로서의 공부와, 과정과, 나아가 삶 자체를 지치고 짜증나게 만든다.

Leave a Reply

